The Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) is a standards writing body responsible for the National Construction Code, WaterMark and CodeMark Certification Schemes.

The ABCB is a joint initiative of the Commonwealth and State and Territory Governments in Australia, together with the building and plumbing industries to improve productivity through the consolidation of all on-site construction requirements into a single code.

Established by an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) in 1994, the Board consists of 18 members, including:

  • An independent Chair
  • A representative from the Commonwealth, state and territory agencies responsible for building matters
  • Up to seven industry representatives, and
  • A representative of the Australian Local Government Association.

The ABCB reports to the Australian Government Minister and State and Territory Ministers responsible for building and plumbing regulatory matters, known as the Building Ministers' Meeting.

The work of the ABCB is delivered by the ABCB Office.


Name Position Organisation Representing 
Glenys Beauchamp PSM     Chair 
John Tansey Executive Director Regulatory Policy, Better Regulation Division Department of Customer Services NSW
Sue Eddy Chief Executive Officer Victorian Building Authority VIC
Anislie Barron Executive Director Building Policy, Department of Energy and Public Works QLD
Saj Khan Surveyor-General Building and Energy, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety WA
Michael Burdett Surveyor-General Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure SA
Peter Graham Executive Director Consumer, Building and Occupational Services, Department of Justice TAS
Ben Ponton Director-General Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate ACT
Mark Meldrum Executive Director Land Services, Department of Planning and Infrastructure NT
Jessica Carew General Manager Business Settings, Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources Commonwealth
Rolph Vos General Manager West Tamar Council Local Government
Penny Cornah Executive Director Master Plumbers’ Association of Queensland Industry
Stephen Kip Director SKIP Consulting Pty Ltd Industry
Richard Choy Chief Executive Officer NATSPEC Industry
Kristin Brookfield Chief Executive Housing Industry Association Industry
Wayne Smith Chief Executive Officer National Fire Industry Association Industry
Dan Perkins Managing Director Perkins Builders Industry
Melissa Chandler Technical Manager Lendlease Industry